Wednesday, September 30, 2009

The Blueberry Saga-Charlier & Moebius

It has been some time since I have read any of Moebius' work. I think the last books I read were the small format science fiction books that Dark Horse published. I was going through some books to read and saw The Blueberry Saga. Moebius (AKA Jean Giraud) has such a strong body of work but it looks like most of it is out of print. Even this edition of Blueberry's adventures is from 1996 by MoJo Press and out of print. The one and only drawback to this edition is its in black and white and the art is reduced in size to the larger format it was meant to be printed. On the plus side,there is a nice short story "Three Black Birds" that Jean Giraud did story and art. Really nice loose art and good story. The main stories are great. So much happens in the 2 major story arcs in this book. For fans of Sergio Leone and Clint Eastwood films or Johan Hex stories then find yourself some Lt. Blueberry collections (look for the Epic Comics editions). Giraud has a good feel for the wild west and can show the huge beauty of the landscape and the vast crowds of people trying to take over the land. Jean-Michel Charlier wrote the stories and they hold up very well. Good character development and interweaving plotlines to all converge at the end. Things are not all black and white in the story and that is one of its strengths.
After finishing this I wanted more. That led me to looking up Moebius on Amazon and was sad to see so little in print.With all the collections coming out from so many different publishers,I am shocked no one is printing Moebius. I'm hoping that will change soon and a new wave of readers can be introduced to the world of Jean "Moebius" Giraud.